Sadiq Khan becomes first London mayor to win a third term

Labour’s Sadiq Khan has won a historic third successive term as mayor of London, becoming the first politician to achieve the feat.


Khan’s victory was confirmed on Saturday after the final London mayoral constituency of Lambeth and Southwark announced its result.


Khan received 106,861 votes (61.2 percent) to beat Susan Hall, his Conservative rival, who got 26,347  votes (15.1%).


The British-Pakistani was first elected in May 2016 after resigning as a member of parliament.


Some former positions he had held previously include parliamentary under-secretary of state for communities and local government in 2008 under Gordon Brown, former UK prime minister.


Khan has also served as minister of state for transport and was prominent under Ed Miliband, former leader of the Labour Party.


The mayor built his campaign on 10 key pledges, including offering a one-year transport for London (TfL) fare freeze and four years of free school meals for seven to 11-year-old primary school pupils.


Khan’s re-election follows a string of victories around England for the Labour Party which is gearing to take power from Rishi Sunak, prime minister, and his Conservatives, in a general election in the coming months.

No comments

Post a Comment

Kindly drop a comment below.
(Comments are moderated. Clean comments will be approved immediately)

Advert Enquires - Reach out to us at

© Copyright © 2023 | Your Online Nigerian Newspaper | All Rights Reserved