Bye-elections in Surulere: Laguda replaces Femi Gbajabiamila

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared Fuad Laguda of the All Progressives Congress (APC) as winner of the Surulere federal constituency 1 by-election in Lagos state.


Simeon Adebayo, the returning officer, announced that Laguda scored a total of 11, 203 votes.


His strongest opponent, Adeola Adebanjo of the Labour Party (LP) garnered 240 votes, while Jerry Afemighie of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) scored 278.


Prior to this, Laguda had defeated party hopefuls Kabir Lawal, Jamila Omobolanle and Abdul Raheem Owokoniran to pick the party’s ticket during the primary election.


He secured all 30 votes of the delegates that voted in the election.


The 46-year old former chairman of Surulere will now replace Femi Gbajabiamila, former speaker, in the house of representatives.

No comments

Post a Comment

Kindly drop a comment below.
(Comments are moderated. Clean comments will be approved immediately)

Advert Enquires - Reach out to us at

© Copyright © 2023 | Your Online Nigerian Newspaper | All Rights Reserved