Best FIFA award: Messi won ahead of Haaland despite having same number of votes

Lionel Messi won the The Best FIFA Men’s Player award on Monday night ahead of Erling Haaland, despite the two players getting the same amount of votes.

The winner of the prize was voted by representatives from the media, national team coaches, national team captains and fans.

Messi and Haaland both got 48 points, but the Inter Miami superstar was announced as winner, because more national team captains voted for him than the Manchester City striker.

Haaland got more votes from national team coaches and media, but Messi received more votes from captains and fans.

According to FIFA’s rules, the tie-breaker for each award depends on the category.

Last year, Messi also beat Haaland to the Ballon d’Or prize.

No comments

Post a Comment

Kindly drop a comment below.
(Comments are moderated. Clean comments will be approved immediately)

Advert Enquires - Reach out to us at

© Copyright © 2023 | Your Online Nigerian Newspaper | All Rights Reserved