Spain defeat England to win Women’s World Cup



Spain’s La Roja have won their first-ever Women’s World Cup title.


The Spanish ladies defeated England 1-0 on Sunday to win the 2023 final in Sydney, Australia.


Jorge Vilda’s squad became the fifth to lift the Women’s World Cup trophy, after the United States (4), Germany (2), Norway (1) and Japan (1).


The Lionesses started the game on a high with Lauren Hemp hitting the crossbar in the 27th minute.


England won a free-kick just after the halfway point of the first period, but play was briefly paused when a male fan invaded the pitch. The invader was promptly tackled and forced off by security.


In the 29th minute, Spain took the lead through Olga Carmona, who latched on to Mariona Caldentey’s through pass to put the ball past Mary Earps.


England started the second half in a 4-3-3 setup with the introduction of Lauren James.


Spain was however able to contain the attacking exploits of Sarina Weigman’s team.


In the 65th minute, a spot kick was awarded to Spain after Keira Walsh handled the ball in the penalty box. Mary Earps dived to her left to stop Hermoso’s shot and deny England a chance to level the game.


Chasing an elusive equaliser, England continued to struggle to string passes together in the final third as Spain took charge and dominated possession.


The Spanish team successfully fought off the English ladies to get crowned world champions for the first time.

No comments

Post a Comment

Kindly drop a comment below.
(Comments are moderated. Clean comments will be approved immediately)

Advert Enquires - Reach out to us at

© Copyright © 2023 | Your Online Nigerian Newspaper | All Rights Reserved