Olamilekan gets appropriations as Akpabio names chairs of senate committees



Godswill Akpabio, president of the senate, has appointed some senators to chair special committees in the upper legislative chamber.

Akpabio also named a chairman of one of the standing committees during an announcement on the floor of the senate on Tuesday.

The composition of the committees is in line with order 96 of the senate standing rules, which provides for establishment of special committees within the first 14 legislative days of a new session.

The senate president who chairs a select committee that has Jibrin Barau, deputy senate president, and all the principal officers as members, made the appointments after a series of meetings.

Solomon Olamilekan, senator representing Ogun west, was named as chair of appropriations — one of the standing committees of the senate.

While the committee chairs are mostly members of the All Progressives Congress (APC), opposition parties got the chairs of ethics (Labour Party), public account (Social Democratic Party), and legislative compliance (Peoples Democratic Party).

Here is the list of chairs and deputies of the special committees.

  • National security and intelligence — Shehu Buba Umar (chair), Asuquo Ekpenyong (deputy)
  • Rules and business — Titus Zam (chair), Opeyemi Bamidele (deputy)
  • Senate services — Sunday Karimi (chair), Williams Eteng Jonah (deputy)
  • Ethics and public petitions — Okechukwu Ezea (chair), Khalid Ibrahim Mustapha (deputy)
  • Public accounts — Aliu Wadada Ahmed (chair), Onyeka Peter (deputy)
  • Legislative compliance — Garba Musa Maidoki (chair), Ede Dafinone (deputy)
  • Media — Adeyemi Adaramodu (chair), Salisu Shuaibu Afolabi (deputy)


No comments

Post a Comment

Kindly drop a comment below.
(Comments are moderated. Clean comments will be approved immediately)

Advert Enquires - Reach out to us at NigerianEye@gmail.com

© Copyright © 2023 NigerianEye.com | Your Online Nigerian Newspaper | All Rights Reserved