BREAKING: Senate confirms Service Chiefs

Nigerian Senate on Thursday confirmed the Service Chiefs whose appointments were transmitted to the Senate by President Bola Ahmed Tinubu for legislative action.

The confirmation followed the screening by the Committee of the whole which was presided over by the Senate President, Godswill Obot Akpabío.

Earlier in the day after their arrival, the nominees were subjected to the Chamber’s protocol where they were asked to introduce themselves.

It was reported that Senators went into a closed doors after their introduction at about 11:00 am to deliberate security issues with the nominees.

After three hours of the meeting, the Senate reopened Chambers for debate at about 3.00 pm to have the confirmation done.

The Service Chiefs who were confirmed through voice votes are: Major General Christopher G Musa, Chief of Defence Staff, Major General T.A Lagbaja, Chief of Army Staff, Rear Admiral Emmanuel Ikechukwu Ogalla, Chief Naval Staff and Air Vice Marshal H. B. Abubakar, Chief of Air Staff.

No comments

Post a Comment

Kindly drop a comment below.
(Comments are moderated. Clean comments will be approved immediately)

Advert Enquires - Reach out to us at

© Copyright © 2023 | Your Online Nigerian Newspaper | All Rights Reserved