PDP wins ALL senatorial seats in Rivers, takes 9 of 12 rep positions


The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has won all the three senatorial seats in Rivers state.


The three senatorial seats are Rivers east, Rivers west, and Rivers south-east.


The results of the national assembly elections were announced by Geraldine Ekelemu, INEC spokesperson in Rivers, on Saturday.


According to the commission, Mpigi Barinada of the PDP won the Rivers south-east senatorial district with 53,734 votes to defeat Ngofa Nyimenuate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) who polled 24,123 votes.


INEC announced that Banigo Harry of PDP won the Rivers west senatorial district with 67,668 votes to beat Asita Asita of the APC who polled 32,572 votes.


The commission also announced that Onyesoh Allwell of PDP clinched Rivers east senatorial seat with 134,283 votes to beat Benjamin Okwuwolu of the Labour Party (LP) who scored 74,725 votes.


The electoral commission also announced the winners of the 12 house of representatives seats for Rivers.


The results for Okrika/Ogubuolo, Etche/Omuma, Ikwere/Emohua, Ahoada West/Ogba/Egbema/Ndoni,

Akuku-Toru/Asari-Toru, Eleme/Tai/Oyibo, Abua-Uduah/Ahoada East, Andoni-Opobo/Nkuru, Degema/Bonny, Obio/Akpor, and Port Harcourt 1 federal constituency seats were announced.


The announcement of the result for Port Harcourt 2 federal constituency was suspended.


The results showed that APC won only the Okrika/Ogubuolo seat, while PDP won nine seats and LP won Port Harcourt 1 federal constituency.

Click to signup for FREE news updates, latest information and hottest gists everyday

Advertise on to reach thousands of our daily users

No comments

Kindly drop a comment below.
(Comments are moderated. Clean comments will be approved immediately)

Advert Enquires - Reach out to us at