BREAKING: INEC declares Makinde winner of Oyo governorship election


Seyi Makinde has been declared the winner of the Oyo state governorship election.


The candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) was successfully re-elected in the poll which took place on Saturday.


Makinde secured 563,756 votes to clinch victory, while Teslim Folarin of the All Progressives Congress (APC) came second with 256,685 votes.


Adebayo Adelabu of the Accord Party came a distant third with 38,357 votes.


Makinde secured victory in 31 of the 33 LGAs in the state, while the APC won two LGAs.


Adebayo Bamire, INEC returning officer for the Oyo governorship election, announced the final result around 3:30pm on Sunday.


“I, Adebayo Bamire, the returning officer, hereby, declare that Makinde Oluseyi of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), having satisfied the requirements of the law, is hereby declared the winner and he is returned elected,” the returning officer said.



Click to signup for FREE news updates, latest information and hottest gists everyday

Advertise on to reach thousands of our daily users

No comments

Kindly drop a comment below.
(Comments are moderated. Clean comments will be approved immediately)

Advert Enquires - Reach out to us at