Oshiomhole, Gbenga Daniel, Jimoh Ibrahim win senatorial bids


Gbenga Daniel, former governor of Ogun state, has been declared the winner of the Ogun East senatorial election held on Saturday.


Daniel contested on the platform of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC).


Christopher Onwuka, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) returning officer, announced the results on Sunday at the collation centre in Itoro Hall, Ijebu-Ode.


The returning officer said Daniel scored 115,147 votes to defeat his closest rival, Ajibola Kalejaiye of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), who polled 58,708 votes.


“I, Prof. Christopher Onwuka, by the powers conferred on me, as the INEC returning officer for this election and having scored the highest number of votes, hereby declared Gbenga Daniel of APC winner of the election,” NAN quoted him as saying.



 Adams Oshiomhole, former Edo state governor, won the Edo north senatorial district election.


Benjamin Adesina, the INEC returning officer, declared Oshiomhole as the winner of the polls with 107,110 votes.


The former president of the Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC) defeated the incumbent, Francis Alimekhena of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), who secured 55,344 votes


Meanwhile, Jimoh Ibrahim, the APC candidate for Ondo south senatorial seat, also won his election.


NAN reports that Ibrahim polled 110,665 votes to defeat Agboola Ajayi, the former deputy governor of Ondo state, who got 65, 784 votes.

Click to signup for FREE news updates, latest information and hottest gists everyday

Advertise on to reach thousands of our daily users

No comments

Kindly drop a comment below.
(Comments are moderated. Clean comments will be approved immediately)

Advert Enquires - Reach out to us at