#NigeriaDecides: LP candidate, 7 others shelve aspiration, support APC senator Sani Musa

Barely 24 hours to the general elections, no fewer than eight senatorial candidates of some opposition parties have dropped their aspirations and decided to support the candidate of the All Progressives Congress, APC, for Niger East senatorial district, Senator Muhammed Sani Musa.

The candidates, Otherwise known as G-8 senatorial candidates, include Alhaji Usman Babagiwa (ADC), Yakubu Aliyu Ibrahim (SDP), Mohammed Mohammed (NRM) and Ibrahim Bagudu Adamu (LP). Others are Mohammed Adamu (APGA), Bawa Danlami (APP), Aminu Halidu (AP) and Mohammed Bawa Ayishi (ADP).

They disclosed their decision during a briefing with journalists in Minna, the capital of Niger State.

Speaking on behalf of others, ADC Niger East senatorial candidate, Alhaji Usman Babagiwa stated: “Having shown genuine commitment in his first term, consequently, we the members of G8 senatorial candidates have unanimously resolved and agreed to adopt Senator Muhammed Sani Musa as our chosen senatorial candidate for our senatorial district.”

He explained that their decision is premised on the fact that they all had many things in common and their interest is better served by the incumbent, Senator Musa.

“We observed that the current candidate of APC has achieved a lot in the last four years of his stewardship, especially in the area of youth and women empowerment,” he said, noting that Senator Musa has been a formidable voice on national discourse and has also been instrumental to the successful, hitch-free take-off of HYPADEC.

The decision to support the APC candidate is not unconnected to his lobbying capacity to attract projects to the senatorial district and the state, the G-8 said, noting that, if given a second opportunity, Senator Musa will achieve beyond expectations.

No comments

Post a Comment

Kindly drop a comment below.
(Comments are moderated. Clean comments will be approved immediately)

Advert Enquires - Reach out to us at NigerianEye@gmail.com

© Copyright © 2023 NigerianEye.com | Your Online Nigerian Newspaper | All Rights Reserved