Buhari reappoints Abubakar, Asein as Legal Aid Council, Copyright Commission DGs

President Muhammadu Buhari has renewed the tenures of two federal officials, Aliyu Abubakar and John Asein.

Abubakar and Asein are Directors General of the Legal Aid Council of Nigeria (LACON) and the Nigerian Copyright Commission, respectively.

Modupe Ogundoro, Director of Public Relations in the Justice Ministry announced their re-engagement on Sunday.

The letter to Abubakar vide Ref: PRES/97/HAGF/174 is dated January 12, 2023.

The appointment is in line with Section 3 (1) and (2) of the Legal Aid Act, CAP. L9.

Asein’s letter, which confirms his final four-year term vide Ref: PRES/97/HAGF/175, is also dated January 12.

Section 36 (1) and (2) of the Nigerian Copyright Commission Act, CAP C28 backs the appointment.

Buhari also approved the nomination of Abiodun Aikomo as Secretary of the Administration of Criminal Justice Monitoring Committee (ACJMC).

Aikomo’s letter vide Ref: PRES/97/HAGF/173 says his tenure is for an initial period of four years.

His designation is in line with Section 471 (2) of the Administration of Criminal Justice Act (ACJA) 2015.

The re-appointment of Abubakar and Asein took effect January 12, while that of Aikomo was effective January 16.

Click to signup for FREE news updates, latest information and hottest gists everyday

Advertise on to reach thousands of our daily users

No comments

Kindly drop a comment below.
(Comments are moderated. Clean comments will be approved immediately)

Advert Enquires - Reach out to us at