BREAKING: Buhari orders Ministers with political ambitions to resign


President Muhammadu Buhari has asked all members of his cabinet seeking elective office to resign on or before May 16.


Tolu Ogunlesi, an aide to the president, disclosed this in a tweet on Wednesday.


“Just in: All members of President Buhari’s cabinet vying for public office will have to resign on or before May 16, 2022,” he tweeted.

Minister of information, Lai Mohammed, also disclosed this to State House correspondents shortly after the Wednesday’s Federal Executive Council meeting.

Rotimi Amaechi, transportation minister; Ogbonnaya Onu, science and technology minister; Godswill Akpabio, Niger Delta affairs minister, and Chris Ngige, labour minister, have all declared their intention to run for president.

Abubakar Malami, attorney-general of the federation (AGF) and justice minister, is seeking Kebbi governorship seat.

Pauline Tallen, minister of women affairs, is seeking a senatorial seat; Uche Ogar, minister of state for mines and steel, is pursuing a governorship bid.

Buhari’s directive is coming on the heels of the contentious section 84(12) of the electoral act.

The section provides that: “No political appointee at any level shall be a voting delegate or be voted for at the convention or congress of any political party for the purpose of the nomination of candidates for any election.”

The president asked the national assembly to delete the section but the legislature refused to. 

No comments

Post a Comment

Kindly drop a comment below.
(Comments are moderated. Clean comments will be approved immediately)

Advert Enquires - Reach out to us at

© Copyright © 2023 | Your Online Nigerian Newspaper | All Rights Reserved