2022 World Cup: Key things you should know as Jay Jay Okocha, others conduct draw on Friday

The 2022 World Cup draws will be conducted on Friday for the qualified nations to know their group stage opponents in Qatar come November.

The draw will take place on Friday at 12pm, Eastern time, at the Doha Exhibition and Convention Center in Qatar.

Before the draw, each of the qualified teams is usually assigned to one of four pots, based on its world ranking.

One team from each pot will be placed in each of the eight World Cup opening round groups, to ensure the teams are divided by strength. There are also rules to keep them apart from regional rivals.

For this year’s event, Nigeria’s Jay Jay Okocha has been selected, alongside other soccer luminaries, including Cafu (Brazil), Lothar Matthäus (Germany), Adel Ahmed Malalla (Qatar), Ali Daei (Iran), Bora Milutinovic (Serbia), Jay-Jay Okocha (Nigeria), Rabah Madjer (Algeria) and Tim Cahill (Australia) to do the actual drawing of the balls out of the bowls.

Teams in the Pot 1 are: Qatar, Brazil, Argentina, Belgium, France, England, Spain and Portugal.

Pot 2: The United States, Mexico, the Netherlands, Denmark, Germany, Switzerland, Croatia and Uruguay.

Pot 3: Serbia, Poland, Senegal, Morocco, Tunisia, Iran, Japan and South Korea.

Pot 4: Canada, Ghana, Cameroon, Ecuador and Saudi Arabia.

Three teams have not yet been determined. The teams when determined will also be in Pot 4.

It would be either Ukraine, Scotland or Wales. Another spot will go to Costa Rica and New Zealand. And the last one, Peru, Australia or the United Arab Emirates. All to be decided by games in June.

Nigeria is one of the big names (especially from Africa) that won’t take part in this year’s tournament. They lost the chance to Ghana.

Also, European champions, Italy, a four-time World Cup winner, will watch from home when the tournament kicks off in November.

No team will want to draw Brazil and France, especially because the South American giants are number one in the world and France is the defending champion.

The favorites to win the 2022 World Cup in Qatar are Brazil, France, England and Spain, in that order, bookmakers say.

No comments

Post a Comment

Kindly drop a comment below.
(Comments are moderated. Clean comments will be approved immediately)

Advert Enquires - Reach out to us at NigerianEye@gmail.com

© Copyright © 2023 NigerianEye.com | Your Online Nigerian Newspaper | All Rights Reserved