FULL LIST: Wizkid, Tems win at 2022 NAACP Image Awards


Wizkid and Tems were among the winners at the 2022 edition of NAACP Image Awards for their collaboration in ‘Essence’ a track off ‘Made in Lagos’ album.

 ‘Essence’, their collaborative hit track, won the outstanding music video category at the awards.

The remix of the project featuring Justin Bieber also snagged the prize for the outstanding international song.

The NAACP Image Award is an event which recognises the best in film, television, music and literature.

The 53rd edition of the annual ceremony started on Monday and came to an end on Saturday.

The win stretches Wizkid’s records at the awards. The ‘Ojuelegba’ crooner also won at the 2020 and 2021 editions of the annual ceremony.

Below is the list of winners:

Outstanding Jazz Album – Instrumental
“Sounds from the Ancestors” – Kenny Garrett

Outstanding Jazz Album – Vocal
“Generations”- The Baylor Project

Outstanding Gospel/Christian Song
“Help Me”- Tamala Mann feat. The Fellas

Outstanding Gospel/Christian Album
“Overcomer”- Tamela Mann

Outstanding Duo, Group or Collaboration (Traditional)
Silk Sonic- “Leave the Door Open”

Outstanding Duo, Group or Collaboration (Contemporary)
Tobe Nwigwe Feat. Fat Nwigwe- “Fye Fye”

Outstanding Soundtrack/Compilation Album
“The Harder They Fall (The Motion Picture Soundtrack)” – JAY-Z & Jeymes Samuel

Outstanding International Song
“Essence”- Wizkid featuring Tems & Justin Bieber

Outstanding Music Video/Visual Album
“Essence”- Wizkid featuring Tems

Outstanding New Artist
Saweetie – “Best Friend” Ft. Doja Cat

Outstanding Male Artist
Anthony Hamilton – “Love Is The New Black”

Outstanding Female Artist
Jazmine Sullivan- “Heaux Tales”

Outstanding Soul/R&B Song
“Pick Up Your Feelings”- Jazmine Sullivan

Outstanding Hip-Hop/Rap Song
“Fye Fye” – Tobe Nwigwe Feat. Fat Nwigwe

Outstanding Album
“Heaux Tales”- Jazmine Sullivan

Special Award: NAACP Humanitarian of the Year
Darnella Frazier

Entertainer of the year

Jennifer Hudson

Lil Nas X
Megan Thee Stallion
Regina King
Tiffany Haddish

Outstanding motion picture

“The Harder They Fall”

“Judas and the Black Messiah”
“King Richard”
“The United States vs. Billie Holiday”

Outstanding actor in a motion picture

Will Smith, “King Richard”

Denzel Washington, “The Tragedy of Macbeth”
Jonathan Majors, “The Harder They Fall”
LaKeith Stanfield, “Judas and the Black Messiah”
Mahershala Ali, “Swan Song”

Outstanding actress in a motion picture

Jennifer Hudson, “Respect”

Andra Day, “The United States vs. Billie Holiday”
Halle Berry, “Bruised”
Tessa Thompson, “Passing”
Zendaya, “Malcolm & Marie”

Outstanding supporting actor in a motion picture

Daniel Kaluuya, “Judas and the Black Messiah”

Algee Smith, “Judas and the Black Messiah”
Delroy Lindo, “The Harder They Fall”
Idris Elba, “The Harder They Fall”
LaKeith Stanfield, “The Harder They Fall”

Outstanding supporting actress in a motion picture

Regina King, “The Harder They Fall”

Aunjanue Ellis, “King Richard”
Audra McDonald, “Respect”
Danielle Deadwyler, “The Harder They Fall”
Dominique Fishback, “Judas and the Black Messiah”

Outstanding animated motion picture 

“Raya and the Last Dragon”
“Sing 2”

Outstanding comedy series


“Run the World”
“The Upshaws”

Outstanding actor in a comedy series

Anthony Anderson, “black-ish”

Cedric the Entertainer, “The Neighborhood”
Don Cheadle, “Black Monday”
Elisha “EJ” Williams, “The Wonder Years”
Jay Ellis, “Insecure”

Outstanding actress in a comedy series

Issa Rae, “Insecure”

Loretta Devine, “Family Reunion”
Regina Hall, “Black Monday”
Tracee Ellis Ross, “black-ish”
Yvonne Orji, “Insecure”

Outstanding drama series

“Queen Sugar”

“All American”
“Godfather of Harlem”

Outstanding actor in a drama series

Sterling K. Brown, “This Is Us”

Billy Porter, “Pose”
Damson Idris, “Snowfall”
Forest Whitaker, “Godfather of Harlem”
Kofi Siriboe, “Queen Sugar”

Outstanding actress in a drama series

Angela Bassett, “9-1-1”

Dawn-Lyen Gardner, “Queen Sugar”
Octavia Spencer, “Truth Be Told”
Queen Latifah, “The Equalizer”
Rutina Wesley, “Queen Sugar”

Outstanding television movie, limited-series or dramatic special

“Colin in Black & White”

“Genius: Aretha”
“Love Life”
“Robin Roberts Presents: Mahalia”
“The Underground Railroad”

Outstanding actor in a television movie, limited-series or dramatic special

Kevin Hart, “True Story”

Anthony Mackie, “Solos”
Jaden Michael, “Colin in Black & White”
Wesley Snipes, “True Story”
William Jackson Harper, “Love Life”

Outstanding actress in a television movie, limited-series or dramatic special

Taraji P. Henson, “Annie Live!”

Betty Gabriel, “Clickbait”
Cynthia Erivo, “Genius: Aretha”
Danielle Brooks, “Robin Roberts Presents: Mahalia”
Jodie Turner-Smith, “Anne Boleyn”

Outstanding new artist


Cynthia Erivo
Jimmie Allen
Zoe Wees

Outstanding male artist

Anthony Hamilton

J. Cole
Lil Nas X

Outstanding female artist

Jazmine Sullivan

Ari Lennox

Outstanding album

“Heaux Tales,” Jazmine Sullivan 

“An Evening With Silk Sonic,” Silk Sonic
“Back of My Mind,” H.E.R.
“Certified Lover Boy,” Drake
“When It’s All Said and Done… Take Time,” Giveon


Click to signup for FREE news updates, latest information and hottest gists everyday

Advertise on to reach thousands of our daily users

No comments

Kindly drop a comment below.
(Comments are moderated. Clean comments will be approved immediately)

Advert Enquires - Reach out to us at