Buhari swears-in six INEC commissioners

President Muhammadu Buhari has sworn in six national commissioners of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

He did so shortly before the commencement of the weekly Federal Executive Council meeting at the Presidential Villa Abuja.

Present at the inauguration of the Commissioners were Vice President Yemi Osinbajo; President of the Senate, Ahmed Lawan; and Speaker, House of Representatives, Femi Gbajabiamila.

Secretary to Government of the Federation, Boss Mustapha; Chief of Staff to the President, Prof. Ibrahim Gambari; and some ministers also attended the inauguration of the INEC Commissioners.

Among those sworn-in include Mohammed Haruna (Niger State), Mrs Agbamuche Mbu (Delta), Okeagu Nnamdi (Abia), retired Major General Abubakar Alkali (Adamawa), Prof Rada Gumus (Bayelsa) and Sam Elumeku (Ogun).

Speaking to State House Correspondents, soon after the swearing-in, INEC Chairman, Professor Mahmood Yakubu said Nigerians should expect the best out of INEC, now that the Commission has the full complement of its Commissioners.

He said: “Well, it’s a good day for the Commission, with the swearing-in of the six National Commissioners, we have the full complements of 12 National Commissioners.

“It’s coming three days to by-elections in four states of the Federation and as we plan for the Ekiti and Osun governorship elections.

“As we continue to prepare for the 2023 general elections, we’ll go on firing on all cylinders now that we have the full complement of commissioners and Nigerians should expect the best out of the Commission.”

Click to signup for FREE news updates, latest information and hottest gists everyday

Advertise on to reach thousands of our daily users

No comments

Kindly drop a comment below.
(Comments are moderated. Clean comments will be approved immediately)

Advert Enquires - Reach out to us at