Reps set up 7 member conference committee on electoral Act Amendment Bill



The House of Representatives has set up a 7-member Conference Committee on the Electoral Act Amendment Bill.


The Speaker of the House of Representatives, Femi Gbajabiamila, made the announcement during plenary in Abuja on Tuesday.


Gbajabiamila said the conference committee would work with that of the Senate on the electoral Act to achieve concurrence.


Recall that the members are; Akeem Adeyemi as the Chairman, James Faleke, Blessing Onuh, Aisha Dukku, Unyime Idem, Chris Azubogu and Abdullahi Kalambaine.


Meanwhile, Rep. Godday Odagboyi, who was elected on the platform of Labour Party, LP, from Benue State, has officially defected to the All Progressives Congress (APC) on the floor of the House.


Reading the letter of his defection, Speaker, Gbajabiamila, said Odagboyi’s defection was due to a crisis in the party.


Gbajabiamila went ahead to appreciate the Minister of Special Duty, Mr Gorge Akume, the former Governor of Benue State and the Acting National Chairman of the APC, Mai Mala Buni.


He, however, asked the minority leader, Ndudi Elumelu if he had any objection to his defection, but there was no objection.

No comments

Post a Comment

Kindly drop a comment below.
(Comments are moderated. Clean comments will be approved immediately)

Advert Enquires - Reach out to us at

© Copyright © 2023 | Your Online Nigerian Newspaper | All Rights Reserved