Prof Tomori appointed as member WHO COVID-19 Technical Advisory Group


A professor of virology and former vice-chancellor of the Redeemer’s University, Ede, Oyewale Tomori, has been appointed to serve as a member of the World Health Organisation’s Technical Advisory Group on COVID-19 vaccine composition.

According to a statement on Wednesday, the Technical Advisory Group on COVID-19 vaccine composition is an independent group of experts that will periodically review the evidence and analyse the implications of emerging variants of concerns on the performance of COVID-19 vaccines.

“During those global consultations, the WHO and partners have noted the urgent needs for shared access to information, coordination and prioritisation, as well as joint action and supported the call for the development of a global risk monitoring and assessment framework that elaborates decision-making processes, triggers for such decision making, and stakeholder roles and responsibilities.

“Following discussions with leads of Laboratory and Diagnostics, Research and Development, Vaccines, Regulatory and overall coordination Teams and consultations with the Executive Director for WHO Health Emergencies Programme, the Coordination Group recognise the need to establish Technical Advisory Group on COVID-19 Vaccine Composition to make recommendations to WHO on the methods to assess the impact of the variants of concerns on vaccines; provide interpretation of available evidence on the effect of variants of concerns on vaccines, including but not limited to vaccine effectiveness and recommend to WHO, for each COVID-19 vaccine platform, adaptations (if any) needed so that vaccines continue to safely provide WHO-recommended levels of protection against variants of concerns,” the statement partly reads.

Some members of the group, according to the statement, are, Dr Supamit Chunsuttiwat, who is an advisor, Department of Disease Control, Ministry of Public Health Thailand; Cheryl Cohen a professor in epidemiology at the University of the Witwatersrand, South Africa; Professor Thomas Fleming, a member of the Scientific Steering Committee for the WHO Solidarity COVID-19 Vaccines Trial; David Goldblatt, a Professor of Vaccinology and Immunology as well as Dr Ziad Memish, a Senior Infectious Disease Consultant.

No comments

Post a Comment

Kindly drop a comment below.
(Comments are moderated. Clean comments will be approved immediately)

Advert Enquires - Reach out to us at

© Copyright © 2023 | Your Online Nigerian Newspaper | All Rights Reserved