FG sets up committee to build primary health centres in S/West states


The Federal Government has said it is set to build functioning and standard primary health centres in all states across the South-West.


The Minister of Health, Dr. Osagie Ehanire, revealed this on Thursday at Ooni of Ile-Ife’s palace during the inauguration of the South-West Traditional Leaders’ Committee on Public Health Delivery.


While inaugurating the committee, Dr. Ehanire explained that the President Muhammadu Buhari-led administration recognised roles of traditional rulers administration, which made him use them to form a committee.


The minister promised, as a takeoff plan of the Federal Government, that a standard Primary Health Centre will be built and made functional in all states across the South-West region.


He added that the model and the location would be decided by the committee.


“The facility will be equipped with standard Staff Quarters, Solar-Powered Borehole, a Keke Ambulance and other basic facilities. We are proud to be working with you and we hope to achieve a lot together,” the minister added.


Meanwhile, the country Director of the United Nations Children’s Fund (UNICEF), Peter Hawkins, pledged the organization’s commitment to quality public health delivery in Nigeria especially in the areas of routine immunization for the children and other vital areas.


Also speaking, the Executive Director/Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the National Primary Health Care Development Agency, Dr. Faisal Shuaib, however, called for more support from Nigerians, particularly the traditional institution.


“We are aware of your might as leaders and we want your support in order for us to serve Nigerians better. You did it in the creation of awareness against the Polio virus till we swept it off the shores of Nigeria and even now with Covid-19, it is evident that you can do it again.” Dr. Faisal said.


The event was attended by health experts including representatives of the World Health Organization (WHO) and Rotary among others.


Other traditional rulers across Yoruba land present were the Olubadan of Ibadan, Oba Soliu Adetunji; Ewi of Ado Ekiti, Oba Rufus Adeyemo Adejugbe; and the Deji of Akure, Oba Aladetoyinbo Ogunlade Aladelusi, among others.

( Hide )

Kindly drop a comment below.
(Comments are moderated. Clean comments will be approved immediately)

Advert Enquires - Reach out to us at NigerianEye@gmail.com

© Copyright © 2023 NigerianEye.com | Your Online Nigerian Newspaper | All Rights Reserved