Remi Tinubu in favour, Abaribe against — how senators voted on giving NCC power over e-transmission of election results


On Thursday, the senate passed the electoral act amendment bill — but not without a heated debate.


The contentious issues in the legislation are the transmission of election results electronically and spending limits for candidates of political parties.


The lawmakers spent more than three hours considering over 100 clauses of the bill, and the majority of the senators succeeded in empowering the Nigerian Communications Commission (NCC) to determine the electronic transmission of electoral results.


The legislation is seeking to repeal and re-enact the 2010 electoral act, which has been under consideration for years.


During the clause-by-clause consideration of the bill, Sabi Abdullahi, deputy senate whip, proposed that the NCC must certify that national coverage is adequate and secure, while the national assembly must approve before the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) can transmit election results electronically.


But Albert Bassey, senator representing Akwa Ibom north-east, kicked against the motion and said the initial proposal made by the committee should be retained.


“The commission may transmit results of elections by electronic means where and when practicable,” section 50(3) of the report reads.


This led to a rowdy session which lasted about 20 minutes.


After the rowdiness and the use of a “division” voting method, the senate eventually retained Abdullahi’s amendment after a 52-28 vote.


Twenty-eight legislators were absent.


While the ‘NO’ vote was to empower NCC determine e-transmission of electoral results, the ‘YES’ was to retain the aforementioned section 50(3) as recommended by the committee.


All APC senators on the floor voted “NO”.


Here is how they voted:

Robert Ajayi BorofficeNO
Francis FadahunsiYES
Ajibola BasiruNO
Clifford OrdiaYES
Matthew UrhoghideYES
Francis AlimikhenaNO
Kola BalogunYES
Hezekiah DimkaNO
Abubakar KyariNO
Gyang IstifanusYES
Nora Ladi Dadu’utNO
George SekiboYES
Ali NdumeNO
Opeyemi BamideleNO
Biodun OlujimiYES
Mpigi BarinadaYES
Betty ApiafiYES
Gobir AbdullahiNO
Abdullahi DanbabaYES
Philip AdudaYES
Chukwuka UtaziYES
Mohammed GojeNO
Yusuf YusufNO
Isa Shuaibu LauNO
Bomai Ibrahim MohammedNO
Francis OnyewuchiYES
Yau SahabiNO
Uba SaniNO
Danjuma La’ahYES
Kabiru GayaNO
Elisha AbboNO
Ahmed Baba KaitaNO
Adamu Aliero NO
Yahaya AbdullahiNO
Yakubu OseniNO
Isa JibrinNO
Smart AdeyemiNO
Ibrahim OloriegbeNO
Oluremi TinubuNO
Solomon Adeola NO
Tanko Al-MakuraNO
Godiya AkwashikiNO
Abdullahi AdamuNO
Musa Mohammed SaniNO
Aliyu Sabi AbdullahiNO
Bima EnagiNO
Ayo AkinyelureYES
Ovie Omo-AgegeNO
Peter NwaoboshiNO
Kashim ShettimaNO
Akon EyakenyiYES
Frank IbezimNO
Bello MandiyaNO
Suleiman Abdu KwariNO
Hassan IbrahimNO
Amos BulusNO
Obinna OgbaYES
James ManagerYES
Gershom BasseyYES
Seriake DicksonYES
Jika HaliruNO
Albert BasseyYES
Aishatu AhmedNO
Eyinnaya AbaribeYES
Christopher EkpenyongYES
Cleopas ZuwogheYES
Emmanuel Orker-JevYES
Lawal GamauNO
Sam EgwuYES
Michael NnachiYES
Lawali AnkaNO
Stephen OdeyNO
Sandy OnorYES
Kabir BarkiyaNO
Danladi SankaraNO
Oyelola AshiruNO
Aderele OriolowoNO
Orji Uzor KaluNO
Biobarakuma Degi-EremienyoNO
Alkali SaiduNO

No comments

Post a Comment

Kindly drop a comment below.
(Comments are moderated. Clean comments will be approved immediately)

Advert Enquires - Reach out to us at

© Copyright © 2023 | Your Online Nigerian Newspaper | All Rights Reserved