DSS grills SSANU, NASU officials over unions’ strike



About seven officials of the Non-Academic Staff Union (NASU) and the Senior Staff Association of Nigerian Universities (SSANU), University of Ilorin branch, were invited for questioning by the Department of State Services (DSS) over the ongoing strike by the unions.

The joint action committee (JAC) of both unions had directed its branches to embark on strike, effective February 5. 


The unions accuse the government of non-payment of minimum wage arrears/retirement benefits to ex-members, non-constitution of visitation panels to universities, and poor funding.


Olumayowa Oyedepo, branch chairman of SSANU said members at the University of Ilorin had also joined in the action and on Monday, some of the officials were grilled by the DSS at the instance of the school management.


“We commenced our nationwide strike today and went round the offices to check if our members are at work; we met two people that are not our members locked inside the Network Operating Centre (NOC) and after those guys came out of the room we discovered that they are not our members, so we handed them over to the school security,” he said.


“The industrial action started on a good note with total compliance by members until the DSS came to invite our chairmen (SSANU and NASU) for questioning at their state office at the instance of the university management. The chairmen and other officials obliged the invitation, had discussion with the DSS operatives and had since returned back to their houses.”


The interrogation, Oyedepo said, lasted for about two hours before they were released.


Some of the officials grilled by the secret police are M. J. Akanbi, branch secretary of SSANU; T. M. Saheed, branch Secretary of NASU; Flourish Josephine, Kwara State Council; Idris Alata, and Adejumo Olusola.



No comments

Post a Comment

Kindly drop a comment below.
(Comments are moderated. Clean comments will be approved immediately)

Advert Enquires - Reach out to us at NigerianEye@gmail.com

© Copyright © 2023 NigerianEye.com | Your Online Nigerian Newspaper | All Rights Reserved