BREAKING: Babajide Sanwo-olu is the next governor of Lagos state | Nigerian News. Latest Nigeria News. Your online Nigerian Newspaper. f


Babajide Sanwo-Olu, candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) has been declared winner of the Lagos State governorship election.

Announcing the result at the state collation center, Eyitope Ogunbodede, returning officer, said Sanwo-Olu polled 739,445 votes ahead of Jimi Agbaje, his Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) rival, who polled 206,141 votes.

defeated his closest rival, Jimi Agbaje of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) with 533,304 votes.

In Epe LGA, where Akinwunmi Ambode, the incumbent governor is from, APC scored 35, 609 votes while PDP polled 6, 464.

In Apapa LGA where Abgaje hails from, Sanwo-Olu, secured 20,469 votes while the PDP candidate polled 5,959 votes, leaving a gap of nearly 15,000 votes.

A graduate of the University of Lagos, Sanwo-Olu was a commissioner under Babatunde Fashola, a former governor of Lagos

The results of the state assembly elections are trickling in, with APC maintaining a clear lead.

Agbaje, a pharmacist, has lost his bid for the topmost position for the number one position in Nigeria’s commercial capital, having first run against Fashola in 2007 and Akinwunmi Ambode, the incumbent governor in 2015.

On his part, Ambode is the first sitting governor in the state to serve a term since the return of democracy in 1999.

See details of the result for the Lagos governorship election below.

Lagos: Final official results

Here is the break down of the official results for the governorship election in Lagos state.

Total registered voters. 6,505,512
 Accredited voters. 1,006,074

A 4122

AAC 1078

ABP 511

ACD 917

AD 3310

ADC 3544

ADP 4780

AGA 207


ANDP 140

ANN 389

ANP 359

APA 1906

APC 739,445

APDA 642

APM 194

ASD 187

CAP 237

DA 111

DPC 211

DPP 555

FJP 113

GPN 49

ID 61


LP 392


MMN 52

MPN 769


NCP 712

NPC 1886

PDP 206,141

PPA 548

PPC 617

PPN 234

PRP 153

PT 120


SDP 277

UDP 151

UPP 108

YDP 148

YPP 1604

ZLP 142

The candidate of the All Progressive Congress Babajide Sanwo-Olu won all local governments in the state finishing with a total of 739,445 votes. He defeated his closest opponent, Jimi Agbaje of the Peoples Democratic Party, who had a total of 206,141 votes with a margin of 533,304.

Signup for FREE news updates, latest information and hottest gists everyday

Post a Comment Default Disqus

Latest Nigerian News
Comments are Moderated. Clean Comments will be swiftly approved. No swear words, no racism, allowed.