Cattle colonies: List of 16 States that have volunteered land | Nigerian News. Latest Nigeria News. Your online Nigerian Newspaper. f

Sixteen Nigerian states have agreed to the establishment of cattle colonies proposed by the Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development, Chief Audu Ogbeh as a solution to the incessant herdsmen crisis.

It was gathered that some 16 states, all in the North, have volunteered land for the establishment of cattle colonies in their domain.

The states include: Adamawa, Kano, Kaduna, Katsina, Zamfara, Kebbi, Nasarawa and Plateau.

Others are Bauchi, Gombe, Borno, Jigawa, Yobe, Niger, Kogi and Kwara states.

According to The Punch, all the 16 states have agreed to volunteer 5,000 hectares of land each.

However, Benue and Taraba experiencing herdsmen attacks have rejected the cattle colonies.

All the 17 states of Southern Nigeria have also refused to volunteer land for the cattle colonies.

Recall that Governor Ayo Fayose had vowed not to give Ekiti land for cattle colonies.

Similarly, the Oodua Peoples Congress (OPC) rejected Federal Government’s plan to establish ‘cattle colonies,’ in South-Western states.


Post a Comment Default Disqus

  1. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.


Latest Nigerian News
Comments are Moderated. Clean Comments will be swiftly approved. No swear words, no racism, allowed.