#OndoDecides: INEC confirms Akeredolu as APC’s governorship candidate | Nigeria News Today. Your online Nigerian Newspaper f

The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, has released the list of candidates for the November 26 governorship election in Ondo State.

In a list published on Thursday evening, INEC confirmed former President of the Nigerian Bar Association, NBA, Chief Rotimi Akeredolu, as the governorship candidate of the All Progressives Congress, APC.

Akeredolu emerged as APC’s candidate from the party’s primary election that was purportedly marred by electoral irregularities.

Following alleged irregularities that marred the primary on September 3 2016 in Ondo State, the party’s Appeal Committee had recommended the cancellation and conduct of a fresh primary election .

Despite the recommendation of the Appeal Panel, the national leadership of the party submitted Akeredolu’s name to INEC as its governorship candidate.

Meanwhile, INEC also confirmed Eyitayo Jegede as the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP’s candidate in the forthcoming election.

Jegede, a former Attorney General and Commissioner for Justice in Ondo State is of the camp of the factional National Chairman of the party, Ahmed Makarfi.

His confirmation as the party’s candidate may have put an end to the aspiration of Jimoh Ibrahim, the nominee of embattled factional National Chairman of the party, Sen Ali Modu Sheriff.

INEC also cleared no fewer than twenty-eight political parties and their candidates for the forthcoming election in the state.

See the list of cleared political parties and their candidates below:

Accord (A): Pastor Oladare Amuda, Action Alliance (AA): Barrister Yinka Oloyede Orokoto, Alliance for Democracy (AD): Dr. Akin Olowookere, African Democratic Congress (ADC): Mrs Modupe Ogunyoku, African People Alliance (APA): Mrs Helen Folasade, Allied Congress Party of Nigeria (ACPN): Chief Adetuwo Ogunjumelo.

All Progressives Congress (APC): Barrister Rotimi Akeredolu, All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA): Prince Samuel Ayo Adegbite, Better Nigeria Progressive Party (BNPP): Hon. Funmilayo Jenyo Ataunoko, Citizens Popular Party (CPP): Prince Peter Fasua, Democratic Peoples Congress (DPC): Reverend Dr. M.D Adeeyo, Democratic Peoples Party (DPP): Mrs Olamide Falana, Hope Democratic Party (HDP): Hon. Olumuyiwa Odedeyi.

Independent Democrats (ID): Mr Samuel Oluwatoyin, Labour Party (LP): Hon. Adeoti Taiye Stephen, National Conscience Party (NCP): Davies Oluwasuyi, National Unity Party (NUP): Pastor Moses Ayibiowo, New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP): Dr. Oluwadare Bada, KOWA Party (KP): Barrister Daniel Ogungbemi, People for Democratic Change (PDC): Segun Odidiemi.

Peoples Democratic Party (PDP): Barrister Eyitayo Jegede, Peoples Party of Nigeria (PPN): Madam Temidola Olagbegi Olunmoliyi, Progressive Peoples Alliance (PPA): Prince Adekunle Egbuwalo, Peoples Redemption Party (PRP): Roland Aregbede, Social Democratic Party (SDP): Dr. Olu Agunloye, United Democratic Party (UDP): Mr Olugbenga Falaiye, Unity Party of Nigeria (UPN): Barrister Bolarinwa Aidi, United Progressive Party (UPP): Mr. Olamilekan Iyanu Olufemi and Young Democratic Party (YDP): Mr. Anthony Adeniranye.

Post a Comment Default Disqus

Nigeria News Comments are Moderated. Clean Comments will be swiftly approved. No swear words, no racism, allowed.